Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…going to write some letters

I’m a little bit in love with Derren Brown. I was watching his show  the other night (and the other, other night) and although I’m a bit disappointed by this one  (unless he did, in fact, rig the Lottery, then that’s pretty cool) I’m still not going to hear anything bad against him.

It looks a bit like the whole thing was a stinkin’ camera trick and a bit of an advert for a failing competition, explained with a few lies that don’t make all that much sense. Which is disappointing. However, as long as the rest of the series is interesting I’ll still believe he’s the greatest living man.

What annoyed me more was that after the first time Derren said ‘I’ll be back after the break’ nothing much had happened. I watch very little TV but when I do I want to watch a show and not a load of adverts. I have no idea how many are needed to make a station break level/how much of a profit stations make with all their ads/how much the number of ads has grown recently but to me it looks a lot like there are more ads than ever and that Channel 4 must be making a lot more than they need to in order to produce a decent running order.

Because they’ve irked me so, and because I want something to do, I’m going to avoid using all the products advertised during the three breaks of the show for the next three months. Some of these won’t trouble me at all, but I’m going to write to them all and tell them that their advertising has turned me away from their product anyway. It’ll be a bit like Robin Cooper, a bit like someone trying to see if he gets any free stuff out of it.

I’m going to ignore the ads for the Lottery because the whole thing was basically promoting them and it seems only fair that they pay C4 as well as Derren for the privilege. All others  will be receiving letters through the post shortly (apart from the internet based companies who I’ll e-mail).

Companies/products:
Domino’s pizza
Asda
Go Compare
Alpen
The Times
Trebor
Rowntree’s
Sorority Row (film)
Away We Go (film)
Sainsbury’s
Lloyds TSB
Smirnoff
Angels and Demons DVD/Play.com
McDonald’s
Capri Sun
Aptamil (!)
Dorian Gray (film)
Head and Shoulders
British Airways
Marks and Spencer
Lacoste
KFC
Colin McCrae Dirt 2 (game)
KitKat Caramel
McCain chips
Match.com
British Airways (the only company, Lottery aside, to appear twice)
Gamer (film)

Twenty eight companies to avoid. That’ll show ’em.

Filed under: annoyances

2 Responses

  1. Jemma says:

    This is hilarious. How did you get on? I can’t wait to find out!

Leave a Reply

