Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…looking to bring back the mystery

Last night I went to see comedy-magicians Barry and Stuart. Despite my huffing last year about my hacked review that appeared on their poster, I was quite excited to see that they had included my star rating on their promotional material this time round. It doesn’t have my name – just the site’s – but it feels quite special to know that it was me who awarded those stars to them even if no one else knows. (I’ve just re-read the review and, my word, it’s been destroyed but still displays my name next to it.)

Probably my favourite bit was at the start when I got to go on stage and introduce them. My 13 words – “Ladies and gentlemen, please welcome to the stage the amazing Barry and Stuart” – brought a huge round of applause from the crowd. Whether this is because I requested it for the performers or if it was for my own fine performance I’ll never know, but either way it shows I did something right.

I don’t want to say too much about this year’s show because I’ll probably end up ruining it, but a lot of what I liked from last year was still present – in their style, rather than substance. The thing with magic shows, though, is that I always want to try to work out how things are done and quite often that ruins things. If I’d been sitting farther back and and had been willing to just enjoy, without questioning, I would’ve been completely blown away, which at the time I was – especially when they used my flatmate as an example. As soon as I put my logical head on I came up with explanations for things which, although may not be how they did their tricks, took away from a lot of the excitement.

I’ve always thought that if I could have a superpower I’d want to have the ability to read people’s minds. This mainly comes from me being insecure and from seeing so many two-faced people. The sort of people who I’ll see being nice and friendly to someone, who make me think ‘Wow, I wish they were like that with me’ and then them turning round when we’re alone to tell me how much they can’t stand that person. That always makes me wonder what they say about me when I’m not around.

With me leaving soon I think people are being more honest with me and telling me things that they wouldn’t otherwise, either about themselves or other people. I do like this increased honesty but there are some things that I don’t want to know, even though I would’ve thought I did. The sort of ‘I wonder if…’ questions that one answer would make me sad while the other, although more positive, actually makes me sadder. Now I’m reading way more into things that I probably shouldn’t and it’s just getting me more and more fed up. It’s enough to make me want to run away and start somewhere new.

I know I think a lot of things I don’t want people to hear so if I knew everything people were thinking about me I think it’d just make things a lot worse. And it would totally ruin magicians.

I reckon I quickly need to come up with a new superpower otherwise today’s sure to be the day I find a genie.

Filed under: annoyances, life, , , ,

3 Responses

  1. Jemma says:

    Oh my god I can’t think of anything worse than being able to read people’s minds. Can you imagine?! Going out for lunch with Links and James would be impossible.

Leave a Reply

