Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…feeling nostalgic

I’ve just been on my MySpace account for the first time in many, many months. I read through my blog posts (3 May 2006 – 6 September 2008) and liked a lot of what I saw. A poll about my beard (ending in me burning it off, sadly I think the video has now gone for ever), cute little stories that I can’t really remember, a running story about me trying to encourage girls I worked with to grow patterns in their leg hair (no one did in the end, but I would be so impressed if I saw someone with a hairy love heart on their leg) and a bit of celeb spotting. Because my talents are clearly wasted on a social network no one uses any more, I’m going to recreate the best parts (ie put my copy and paste training to good work) whenever I decide I haven’t written anything new for a while.

From 18 September 2006:

DOAday
I spent the majority of today in the cinema, it was one of the best days of my life.

Rated in order of greatness, here’s what I saw:

1. Dead or Alive. 12.20. Seat A14. Absolutely amazing, the first time I’d seen it so there were lots of nice surprises for me, and it was my favourite kind of seat – at the front with the rail (that means a lot to me).
2. Dead or Alive. 20.45. Seat B4. The last of the viewings, I knew what was going to happen, and what was going to be said, but I enjoyed looking out for new things and working out little bits that most other people won’t have noticed. I deliberately sat in row B for this one because I wanted Helena Douglas (Sarah Carter) to say I was cute (it was either me or Johno and I like 50/50 chances). The rest of the audience seemed to like this performance the most.
3. Dead or Alive. 14.30. Seat G4 (originally G3 but I moved because the silly bannister thing was in my way). Knox wouldn’t let me sit next to him which was disappointing. This is the first time I’d seen the same film twice in a day which counteracted the disappointment of my loneliness (as did Carter’s brief appearance).
4. Dead or Alive. 18.40. Seat E18. I had a friend for the whole of this one but Euan didn’t seem to like it much, which was a shame.
5. Dead or Alive. 16.30. Seat H23. Despite the picture on the tills, this seat doesn’t extend further than the rows in front of it, which made me a little sad. I’m not sure I ever truly got over the sadness of this discovery.

Emlyn, you’re an idiot for missing out on what would’ve been a super fantastic day for you. (As is anyone else that didn’t go.)

Back then I worked in a cinema and we got free tickets as a perk of the job. I think we were meant to get a maximum of four a day but that day I think I got about eight. I’d planned with Emlyn how it would be great to see every showing of a film on a day so I went to see Dead or Alive five times. It was incredible, utterly incredible.

Emlyn, the fool, didn’t show up.

Filed under: life, ,

2 Responses

  1. Jemma says:

    OMG the seat with the rail is my favourite seat too!

    What the hell is Dead or Alive?

Leave a Reply

