Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…forgetting his friends already

I haven’t left the country yet and I’m already starting to forget my friends. Or connections. whatever you call those people on Facebook. 

Last night I was in the pub with my brothers and Dad where I was challenged to name all my Facebook friends. I had 195 friends on Facebook. I was given 30 minutes, ish, to name as many as I could. The theory being that anyone I couldn’t name should be deleted.

I’m not sure I was given my full time in the end, more people started to get bored just watching me write down names, but I managed to get 155 names down. It turns out that eight of these were people who either I’d already deleted, who I’d never added in the first place or were people who had deleted me at some point. Without those I had 147, which is pretty much 75% of my friends.

Who are you?

That left 48 unaccounted for. Who were these people?
– 12 were holiday friends/internet friends I’ve never met/people who were more like friends of friends than actual friends.
– 12 were from my old job at the cinema, which I was sure I’d forgotten some people from. Embarrassingly a couple were people I met up with last week.
– 9 were from school, two of whom I thought of when I was listing names but ignored because I thought I’d already deleted them.
– 4 were from my most recent job.
– 4 were from my previous job, although mainly from a different office.
– 1 was from uni.
– 6 were assorted people who don’t fit into categories so easily.

Eleven of these have been deleted already, but what of the other 37? Two I was very surprised to have missed off, others I could come into contact with again in the future, some could just be awkward through mutual friends. Maybe later on I’ll get rid of them.

Perhaps more worryingly, which of my other friends will I forget next?

Filed under: life, ,

3 Responses

  1. Lynsey May says:

    I would like it if you could try and not forget me for at least four months and seven days. Thanks.

  2. Oliver says:

    So from March onwards I don’t *need* to remember you? I think I can manage that.

    It’s quite a fun game. Without looking at your Facebook, your phone book, your …book (or anything else that has friends in/on it), how many of your 135 can you name? I’ll give you 20 minutes.

  3. Lynsey May says:

    um, I’m replying 13 hours later so I’m guessing the jig is up. I was really careful when I first started fb to only add people I like – that’s why I have a bunch of requests in my inbox I’m ignoring (including exes). Still, I’m so forgetful I’d do badly at that test.

Leave a Reply

