Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…not travelling alone

One of the strange things about going away is that people want to buy me things to load me down on my travels. While often well meaning, I never really understood the reasoning behind this – I always prefer to buy people presents when they return from trips rather than rewarding them for going away from me.

The most popular going away present seems to be a travelling companion. One friend almost got me one, but was too late for the shops, while another three have given me something to take away with me, photograph with the sights and use to remember them by. Another friend has asked for my address so there might be another on its way.

The holy trinity:

A James Bourne poster. Mainly because the room I’d booked out in Aberdeen was right next to a James Bourne gig. I wish I knew beforehand. JAMES BOURNE.

Your head's the wrong way round

A badger badge. I’ll write that again. Badger badge. Amazing.

Wallace. The least likely to get ripped or lost so he’s being tipped for success as my long term companion. So much so that he gets a Flickr album devoted to his travels. Just in case you’re into that sort of thing.

I’m still awaiting one parcel. I’m hoping I’ll have another travelling companion.

Filed under: australia, ,

2 Responses

  1. Dave w says:

    I thought this would be gossip, you got me all excited. Never mind, that Scotch bear is still hot.

  2. Jemma says:

    Aw what happened to the tshirt! You’re so ungrateful.

Leave a Reply

