Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…the best in the UK, say experts

According to a recent survey carried out by some top boffins, experts have concluded that Oliver is the best.

Ending Jack’s 14-year reign as the best, Oliver is now the most popular name for new born baby boys in the UK. Olivia is number one for girls. Which is strange because I don’t think I know any Olivias and I know very few Olivers – I normally remember when I do because I thought it was quite a rare name, not like Dave or something where basically everyone in the world is called that.

I know I’m a bit slow off the mark with this news, but I’ve been moving round the world and that.

I seem to have settled into a routine quite quickly. Morning and afternoon is divided between ‘writing’ for Demand and exploring Melbourne. I often don’t have much to write about, but I do take photos every now and then. Early evening I do some cleaning – three hours a day gets me a free sleep which I think is a fair swap. It’s not exactly my dream job, but I can’t call it a step down from my last one either. At least when I finish a shift now I can see that I’ve actually made a difference. I’m looking for things to listen to while I’m doing this work, so if anyone has any suggestions to add to Dave’s list of podcasts that would be ace. Evening is spent either running, reading, watching, drinking or writing a bit more. My diet is appalling.

I’m in Melbourne for another three weeks before I head up to Brisbane for the start of the Ashes. Tips are most welcome.

Filed under: australia, life, ,

2 Responses

  1. Dave w says:

    Three weeks? That’s probably long enough to justify treating it like a flat and buying some healthy kitchen food (if only to save $$$ on eating out).

    You obviously wouldn’t be the sort of lowlife to illegally download things, or to want an incriminating link in your blog, but just for research purposes here is the Pirate Bay’s list of audiobooks/podcasts arranged by seed count:

    http://thepiratebay.org/browse/102/0/7

    If nothing else, it’s fun to see people’s fickle, unimaginative tastes and their various insecurities (‘What Do Women Want from Men?’ etc – I haven’t downloaded that one and anyone who says I have is lying).

  2. Jemma says:

    Listen to Brand New. They’re awesome.

Leave a Reply

