Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Brisbane, for now

After little over a week in Brisbane, I’m heading off today to visit Adelaide for a week. These short stops are mainly based on where the English cricket team is going to be, which is just as good a way to spend your life as any, I guess.

Time zones are a bit mental. Today I’m flying west to Melbourne (where my watch will go forward an hour) then getting a connecting flight farther west to Adelaide (where my watch will go backwards half an hour). In a week’s time I’ll be going to Perth on the west coast (where my watch will go back two and a half hours). To me, this seems like a silly way of doing things, but it’s not me just making a mistake, it’s them.

Most of my time has been spent at the Gabba, which has been great. Well, day one wasn’t too amazing and day three was pretty poor, but four was great and five was the most fun I’ve had in a long, long time.

(Photo courtesy of the free Times website)

While I’ve been here I’ve been staying with Andy, a friend I used to play cricket with in Fochabers and occassionally see in Edinburgh. He’s really the only person who was in Australia when I came who I’d met before and wanted to see again, so it’s been nice to catch up. It’s also been nice to have real meals and a bed in a room all to myself and despite their six-week-old baby, I’ve been sleeping well.

I also met up with a guy I’ve been speaking to online for ages. The first email I can find from him is from 2002, but I think we worked out it was closer to 10 or 11 years. He turned out to be really nice, despite being an Aussie, which I guess should be expected after speaking to someone for so long. Still, I’m sure I’ll find a weirdo soon.

I haven’t seen too much else of Brisbane. I went along the river one day which was quite nice. They have Go cards here, which is kind of like an Oyster card (except I’ve never had one of them so I’m just guessing) which lets you use the public transport easily. This includes trains, buses and FERRIES. How amazing to have ferries as part of everyday commuting? Very.

Ferry from a ferry

The wildlife here is pretty cool again. They have mental ibis birds all over the place, massive fruit bats just down the road from the house and a gecko keeps coming to visit the house to eat all the mosquitoes trapped by the window net. Finally saw some flamin’ galahs as well.

I almost went on a tour of the Castlemaine brewery but they were charging ridiculous prices so I left. It’s also one of the worst beers I’ve tasted. It’s far worse than Tennent’s and may even rival Rolling Rock for #1 position.

In Dave style I made up an amazing/awful joke while waiting to be served at a bar:

Q. What’s a drunken Australian’s favourite worldwide decentralised over-the-counter financial market for the trading of currencies?
A. The forex (XXXX) market.

Filed under: australia, ,

2 Responses

  1. Dave w says:

    A new classic!

    I didn’t know time zones came in halves. Isn’t that just complicated for the sake of it?

    I saw a mummified ibis the other day. I don’t think I’ve seen a live one.

  2. Jemma says:

    “Still, I’m sure I’ll find a weirdo soon”

    MISSION ACCOMPLISHED! What next, Olly?

Leave a Reply

