Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…looking for suggestions

It’s less than a month ’til 2011 begins and that means people the world over will be thinking up new things to give up or improve so they have something to track in their newly bought diaries.

I’m as completely unoriginal as the next person, so I often like to set myself goals for the year. I did so at the start of 2010 (full report to come in a few weeks) but once this year is up I’ll need something to do over the next 12 months.

If anyone would like to make any suggestions, please do. As you can see from last year’s list it’s a mixture of things to improve myself, things to make me get out a bit and ways to do a bit of good. You’re welcome to make suggestions along these lines or to come up with something completely different, the only thing I’d suggest is to make sure that none of them depend on other people (because other people are all rubbish and unreliable).
Come up with as many as you like and I may take some or all of them up.

Filed under: life,

5 Responses

  1. Lynsey May says:

    I feel uncomfortable with the idea of suggesting you do something to improve your life – what if it backfired?

    How about reading a set amount of books by a variety of authors? I can’t see how that one could go wrong…

  2. Oliver says:

    If it backfires then it’s my fault and not yours. I get to veto any suggestions I don’t like so if you say something silly like ‘shave your face every day of the year’ then I’ll just refuse.

    I like the book idea. What’s a good number to aim for? Does there have to be some sort of ‘standard’ to the authors – classics or something similar?

    Keep going!

  3. Dave w says:

    Make yourself learn a language again – whether it’s sign language or the language spoken by some girl you want to impress (meet a deaf Japanese girl and you’re onto a winner. Except then you’d have to learn writing rather than spoken language… but maybe she could lip read).

    It at least means you’ll never be able to say you haven’t got anything to do. Not that this seems to be a problem you face in your cricket roadie lifestyle.

    • Oliver says:

      The problem I have with learning languages is that because I never have a chance to actually use them, I forget everything I know. I’d need to live in a foreign land (a real one, not a pretend one like Australia) or in a deaf colony to achieve that to any sort of degree. Also, can you properly learn a language in a year?

  4. Dave w says:

    I don’t know – I haven’t had a lot of success with languages, studying German for 7 years and barely being able to string a sentence together now. Though that’s probably also down to the way it was taught.

    The best language courses I’ve found have been Pimsleur ones, which all use the same method of drilling things in in a conversational way that does stick, at least if you don’t get lazy.

    Michel Thomas does good ones too, I think. Being around native speakers also surely helps like you said, I’ve just never stuck around long enough (or put in the effort) to see the magic happen.

    But there is a ridiculous scene in the rubbish film ‘The 13th Warrior’ where an Arabic guy learns to speak Viking overnight just by listening to their campfire stories. So who knows?

Leave a Reply

