Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Melbourne

Earlier this month I returned to Melbourne. It was a bit strange because so far on my trip, everything has been new and sparkly. In Melbourne I recognised things, I knew a few people and I’d done a lot of the tourist temptations.

A briefer summary than most, because I’m not including things like ‘catching up with X to have lunch/go for a night out’ etc. I could do, but it would be basically just that sentence, which I can admit isn’t a thrilling read.

– took my amazing Warburton trip, which was definitely the highlight of this section.

Looks eery

– went to Williamstown on the advice of the Warburton guide. I took a friendly Scotch guy with me and we had an ace ferry trip there before having a nice wander around the waterside town. In this dorm I met three nice Scotch people, which is surprising. As I’ve mentioned to Dave the flaneur a couple of times, the Scotch over here are generally horrible.

He deserves a statue for that beard

– went to a bit more cricket.

– saw my first wild penguins of the trip. Penguins being typically associated with this sort of climate, of course.

Penguin

– got my hair done in a training academy type place. I now have five colours in my hair and I feel as much like McFly have written a song about me as I ever have.

– went to the IMAX and watched some cool 3D documentaries on the world’s third biggest cinema screen.

– my friends from Huntly who randomly walked into my dorm in Fremantle randomly walked into my dorm in Melbourne. They weren’t meant to be coming here but because of the floods they had to change their plans. I didn’t really get to speak to them because it was already past bed time and I had to get up at half six for flight preparation, but it was strange to see them again.

Other than that, a lot of it was just catching up with people from Melbourne, Adelaide or Aberdeen and seeing the more ‘normal’ side of Melbourne. Still, Sydney beckons and it’s got a load of new, shiny attractions for me to play with.

Filed under: australia, ,

4 Responses

  1. Lynsey May says:

    Just remember Oliver, playing with the attractions is one thing – breaking them entirely another.

  2. Dave w says:

    I’ve only gone back once so far – when I had to spend a night in a city just so I could use its airport. It felt so strange and wrong, and led to a few anxiety dreams where I ended up there again and again. Going ever forward is definitely the best option!

    I haven’t met any Scotch people, but of the two Englands I’ve spent any time speaking to, 100% have been complete dicks.

  3. Jemma says:

    Scotch is to decribe pies, sellotape, and booze. When you call people Scotch it makes you sound a bit American. Scots or Scottish is probably more acceptable, daftyheed.

Leave a Reply

