Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…worried about safety precautions at the cricket world cup

I may be overreacting here, and it may be a simple typo, but you’d think that people would check these sorts of things before printing out however many hundreds of thousands they were going to be selling. According to the ICC, it’s perfectly acceptable to take weapons into grounds during the cricket world cup in India this year.

Cricket World Cup ticket conditions

You’ll probably need to zoom to read it, the only thing I’ve done to that photo is add the red line. All that’s missing on the left hand side is the letter ‘w’. This was for the glorious England – South Africa game in Chennai (6 March 2011). I hope it’s on all the other tickets as well and, if so, when I get my next ticket I’ll try to take a better aligned photo.

Here’s the unedited photo, for all you fans of things like that.

Cricket world cup tickets: weapons

For those who can’t get the photos to work, the conditions of entry to 2011 cricket world cup games in India, as set out by the official tickets, includes: “Handbags, bottles, lighters, helmet, tins or cans, musical instruments, metal containers and weapons are allowed inside the stadium.”

Luckily I didn’t see any.

Filed under: asia, , , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Dave w says:

    I’ve seen a couple of ‘No Guns’ signs on the doors of Thai pubs/restaurants (a picture of a gun with a Ghostbusters-style ‘no’ circle over the top). I hope they didn’t have to add them after specific incidents. And it does imply that the default is ‘Guns.’

    I might have seen loads of gun shops too, but convinced myself that they were just toys because they are among the relatively few things that terrify me by their mere existence (not toys).

    • Oliver says:

      I flew from Chennai to Bangalore today. As I was waiting to check in I was watching the screen that detailed what you weren’t allowed to take on board. Rather than just say ‘weapons’, they decided they should list pretty much every weapon they could think of. Which is stupid, because I’m sure they missed out a niche and someone could say something like “Well you said no hand grenades, revolvers, axes or dynamite but there was nothing about nuclear missiles! Why can’t I take this on?”

  2. James says:

    Don’t worry, be happy.

    • Oliver says:

      I’m a bit happier now – the ticket for Bangalore is different and says that weapons are not allowed in the ground. It’s a revolutionary idea, but one that I hope catches on.

Leave a Reply

