Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…just tiger about

That title only works when the big cat you spend your day with is a lion, doesn’t it?


There’s not much to say about this day, other than it is definitely one of the best afternoons I’ve ever had. In the morning I went to the floating markets and then to see the bridge over the River Kwai which was pretty cool. BY the river I got to cradle a leopard cub, but that doesn’t even register on how amazing my day got. Because then I went to the tiger temple.

Although for a long time I was worried that the ineptitude of a Thai girl had lost me all my photos. Luckily, after hours of fretting and a very talented Kodak shop man, I got all 228 back.

My favourite ones are of my new scarf.

After that, despite the worst efforts of some idiot who worked there, me and two others on my tour bus (Ed and Paula) were the only people in the world who were clever enough to be amazing.

First we got to handwash some tigers.

Then we got to handfeed them. I handfed a tiger.

Then their chains were released and they were allowed to roam free.

Then we went fishing for tigers.

But we’re not complete idiots, we know you go fishing in the water.

I’m going to upload a lot more of these later, including a nine minute video. Tigers are grrrreat!

Filed under: asia, , , ,

4 Responses

  1. Dave w says:

    Fantastic! I didn’t see you get back before I had to get my bus, so probably for the best that I didn’t go.

    I’ll have a day or two in Kanchanaburi next week, so will make plagiarising your day trip a priority.

  2. Lynsey May says:

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww

  3. James says:

    I hope the tiger washed your back as well. Those places are so hard to reach!

Leave a Reply

