Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Bangkok, for now

Bangkok is ace.

Dave reckons I’ve been spoilt by my experience in India. He may be right. Whenever people coming from tame countries like the UK mentioned how wild and different Thailand was, I couldn’t help but roll my eyes. Clean streets, minimal kidnapping tuk-tuk drivers and other foreigners? This place is like a creche. But a creche full of offers for sex shows and filthy massages. Note: that would actually be a terrible business idea.

You already know some of what I did there. Meeting Dave was great. My day with the Thaigers was incredible. I could leave it there and it would be a fantastic city trip.

I guess that is actually, more or less, it. When I wasn’t playing with Dave/tigers, I was generally walking around and looking at temples or Buddhas. Like this massive reclining Buddha.

Reclining Buddha

Or this massive standing Buddha.

Big Buddha

I also went to see the floating markets, that were quite interesting but generally as full of overpriced tat as Khaosan Road. After that I went to see the bridge over the River Kwai, which is the setting for one of my old flatmate’s favourite films. I also got to cradle a leopard, which was very cute.

image19

And then I left. My bus to Surat Thani was delayed by around 90 minutes. Why? Because the king wanted to go home so we had to close the streets to let him get back. Nice of him to see me off, I guess, but I would’ve preferred to get away on time.

I’m not quite sure how, but I ended up sitting in the VIP area of the bus. Here are some things that are not allowed in this section:

Things that are not allowed in the VIP section of the bus

Do you know what the second one is? A durian, a very stinky fruit. And here are the things that are allowed in the VIP area. Do you know what the last one is?

Things that are allowed in the VIP section of the bus

And here is a dog wearing a T-shirt.

A dog in a T-shirt, of course

Filed under: asia, , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses

  1. Dave w says:

    Seems I’m never done with Bangkok, I’ll be there again next week. But being on a time schedule and a budget, it’s just so much easier and cheaper to stay there and take day trips to nearby places, rather than pay more and spend more time actually staying in those places. Thailand makes me lazier.

    The second Don’t might (boringly) be about chewing betel nuts – at least, I’ve seen lots of signs telling people not to do that in Thailand and Taiwan. But you can’t bring your fox into the VIP area? WHAT’S THE POINT OF A VIP AREA THEN???

    P.S. I like ‘Thaigers,’ I didn’t think of that.

  2. Jemma Porter says:

    Is the dog wearing a t-shirt so that he can go in the VIP section?

Leave a Reply

