Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…never going to be silenced

As part of my expedition into Asia, I was hoping to go to Suan Mokkh monastery for a 10-day silence retreat. It’s something I’ve been interested in for a while and the main reason I suggested to Dave that we meet in Thailand rather than any other country round this way.

Retreats start on the 1st of every month and registration takes place on the last day of the preceding month. You’re allowed, if you like, to go up the day before that for a free night’s stay. I liked that idea so was planning to go up tomorrow.

I realised today that I wasn’t quite sure of my plans yet so went onto the monastery website to check their advice. Which is when I saw a big message warning me about floods in the area. A bit later on, that message changed to:

+++  March 29, 2011, 07.00 p.m. +++  March 29, 2011, 07.00 p.m.  +++
+++  The April 2011 retreat is cancelled!!!  +++
+++
The retreat center is severely affected by recent flooding.
+++
We are sorry for the inconvenience and hope you will have the opportunity to take part in our retreats at another time, maybe in May 2011 (if the weather permits).
+++

Which is totally fine, because it’s not like I’ve spent the last few days in a non-entity of a town waiting to go to one of the few things in the world which I had earmarked as something I’d really like to try. Then again, it’s not like I’m cursed and could’ve predicted something like this happening. Oh, wait. The pendulum’s swinging closer.

Now I need to find something new to do so that my time down south isn’t completely wasted. The weather doesn’t seem promising for islands/snorkelling/diving and there are a couple of things on the mainland to do around here, but one I would quite like to get a reply from before I commit to.

Filed under: annoyances, asia, , , ,

One Response

  1. Dave w says:

    Damn, we were all looking forward to you shutting up for 10 days. On a serious note though, 😥

    I’m glad you suggested Thailand to me. The other place I was considering was Japan, so I could have been floating down a river on fire instead of having (probably) the best month of my life.

Leave a Reply

