Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…six months old

If WordPress’ scheduled posting system works, I’ve now been away from the UK for six months.

Depending on what you count, I’ve been to either four or eight different countries. I’ve been to four countries. In that time I’ve travelled around 36,000 miles and lost five items of clothing, two chargers, a curse, two pairs of sunglasses, a belt, and the feeling of being enveloped by gloom.

Oliver's travelsHighlights include:

– A week with elephants

– The cricket world cup and seeing England win the Ashes

– My day with the quokkas

– Tiger Temple

– Zipping through a Thai jungle

– Cheating death

– Growing some more beards

Seven  is a nice number so I’ll stop there. This isn’t mentioning anything about kangaroos, being an award winning cleaner, catching up with friends, learning to dive, going ice climbing, messing about with a didgeridoo, ridiculous coincidences or just the general feeling that everything is pretty ace right now.

In comparison with my last six months in the UK, based on what I bothered to blog/remember about, I:

– went urban exploring in the old Odeon

– enjoyed a trip to Israel (is this in favour of the UK?)

– grew some more beard styles

Again, that’s not including basic nice things like enjoying spending time with friends.

I think I made quite a good decision.

Filed under: asia, australia, beard, life, new zealand,

7 Responses

  1. Jemma says:

    But is that the UK’s fault or your fault?

    In the past 6 months I’ve:

    – Learned everything I will ever need to know about wine
    – Been evacuated from a hotel in the highlands in the middle of a blizzard due to a steamy shower
    – accidentally went dogging
    – Almost got kicked out of a McFly concert for being too drunk
    – Went cycling in Amsterdam city center and almost died from a tram
    – Stayed on a houseboat for a weekend
    – Watched my best friend’s son turn one
    – Wrote a novel
    – LOADS OF OTHER EXCITING THINGS

    😛 x

  2. Dave says:

    The only times I’ve missed the UK are for events like Nine Lessons and Carols for Godless People in December and the upcoming Fringe. That’s it!

    Nice to see the new rational Oliver being more realistic with the country-counting. It only counts as a visit if you spend at least 20 minutes hopping across the border and back to renew your visa (which means I’ve totally been to Cambodia).

  3. Dave says:

    Hang on, are you counting Singapore? You were there for 18 hours.

    • Oliver says:

      No! The four I’m counting are Australia (several months), New Zealand (a couple of weeks), India (a couple of weeks) and Thailand (a month). I’ve updated the post to reflect that I’ve been to eight countries in all, I forgot to change it when I’d ‘been to’ Malaysia. I’ve also ‘been to’ Singapore, China and Sri Lanka.

  4. James says:

    Eagerly awaiting another post from the desk of Oliver.

Leave a Reply

