Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…impressed by The Beards of Australia

When I first arrived in Australia there were a few differences I noticed that I wasn’t too keen on — they generally centred around things not being how I’m used to them, but I’ve since discovered teas, cheeses and beers that I can now enjoy.

One thing I did immediately like about the country was the immense facial hair on display, something helped a lot by arriving on 30 October so I could fully enjoy Movember unfold.

The Beards                                                                                             Source

Not all the moustaches on show that month had been grown specifically for charity as many were far too impressive to be the work of a single month. As well as taches, though, I’ve discovered that The Beards of Australia are also incredible.

This one’s about beards:

Thanks to my favourite Australian-Thai hybrid, I found out about my new favourite band. Who wants to hear songs about man-woman love when you can hear songs about beards? Not me.

Here’s one about beards:

The best part was that after finding out about this band, they came to Sydney not very long afterwards. The best part was actually going to that gig, but you probably understand the point I was trying to make. Something about beards?

I can’t remember the last time I went to a gig where the band didn’t play my favourite song, or another of the best-rated in my iTunes library, and I didn’t actually care because everything else was so amazing. There’s no “I enjoyed that, but it would’ve been better if…” with The Beards. Just “That was incredible”.

One last song to leave you with, it’s about beards:

I started writing this post in a cheerful mood because of the beards, but now that I’ve realised 20 August 2010 was my last day at my old job my smile has been turned up another notch.

Filed under: australia, beard

2 Responses

  1. Dave says:

    Happy, hairy anniversary!

    I’m on too awful a Wi-Fi connection to be able to hear those songs and jump on the beardy bandwagon yet.

  2. Jemma Porter says:

    OMG! Was that the tequila at 7am day?! Happy anniversary! 🙂

Leave a Reply

