Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…quizmaster

What do this woman’s foot, this baby doll and this man have in common?

footweltdeSource:  welt.de

SONY DSC       Source: disy.es

unibrowstereogumSource: stereogum.com

If you answered “hahaha they all look like u lol” you would be correct. That is if you believe everything Google tells you.

While looking to see where my beard photos had been used online, I noticed that Google would always suggest similar images to the version of my face that I searched. I didn’t always agree with the Mountain View giant’s suggestions, however.

Your task is to simply match up these five beard styles with the five lists of ‘similar images’ offered by Google. If everyone seems to get them right (no cheating, please) then maybe I’ll have to concede that I pretty much look like an Asian girl, no matter what beard style I wear. Some images have disappeared since I first took screenshots, so I can’t link to bigger pictures of all.

Facial hair
A) Asquith

moustaches-asquith

B) Ducktail

beards-ducktail

C) Friendly Mutton Chops

beards-friendlymuttonchops

D) Horseshoe

moustaches-horseshoe

E) Zappa

moustaches-zappa

 

 

 

 

Google’s similar images
1)

beardquiz1

Image one Image two Image three Image four
Image five Image six Image seven Image eight

2)

beardquiz2
Image one Image two Image three Image four
Image five Image six Image seven Image eight

3)

beardquiz3
Image one Image two Image three Image four
Image five Image six Image seven Image eight

4)

beardquiz4

Image one Image two Image three Image four Image five
Image six Image seven Image eight Image nine

5)
beardquiz5
Image one Image two Image three Image four
Image five Image six Image seven Image eight

Answers: A2, B5, C1, D4, E3.

How did you do, beard fans?

Filed under: beard, ,

5 Responses

  1. Dave says:

    ‘The Mountain View giant’ really takes me back. Those first two in number 5 are really stretching it, this image recognition software needs an overhaul.

    A2
    B5
    C1
    D4
    E3

    (Was I supposed to put them here?)

  2. Dave says:

    Also, because I should be working as well, here’s another fun time-wasting activity you might like to shove your face into, created by St Andrews University:

    http://morph.cs.st-andrews.ac.uk/

    I already did mine a while ago for a blog post that won’t go live until 23 December because of the stupid way I do things, so you can beat me to it if you want. May I present East Asian Dave, Indian Dave, Black Dave, Female Dave and Old Dave:

    (Assuming the image still works if the post isn’t published).

Leave a Reply

