Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Malbork

One thing you probably noticed I missed on my trip to Cardiff was jumping on a train and going to nearby Caerphilly. Not only is it home to a popular cheese, it’s also the location of Britain’s second largest castle (behind Windsor, the world’s largest inhabited castle, which I’ve already seen).

Admittedly I was tempted to see it, but not when I knew that within a month I would be at the world’s largest castle.

malbork-castle

At least, I think it is. According to ever-reliable Wikipedia, Malbork Castle is the world’s largest “by surface area” (as well as the largest brick building in Europe) while Prague Castle is the “largest ancient castle in the world” or “the largest castle complex”.

Work on Malbork Castle began in 1274 and it underwent several extensions over the years to house an ever-growing number of knights. People still seem to be building something there, whether they’re renovating or just trying to hold on to the record I’m not sure, but either way it’s a pretty big place. Too big to capture well in a photograph, so here’s a photo of a model with the castle in the background.

malbork-model

And here’s a model inside the castle.

model-malbork

And that’s about it. Big castle. I went there. It was nice. Have some photos.

malbork-inside

 

malbork-cloister

 

malbork-renovation

malborkcastle

 

I had planned to spent a couple of days at Malbork, taking in the dinosaur park too, but a change of plans meant I only had a day trip and the castle was all I could fit in.

Filed under: europe, , ,

Leave a Reply

