Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Zakopane

Before arriving in Poland there were a number of places outside the main cities that I was interested in going. Although some, like trips to the forests of Bialystok, didn’t happen, I did make the jaunt to much-hyped mountain town Zakopane, which the people with Polish knowledge I spoke to beforehand saying would be one of the best parts of my trip.

zakopane

For much of the year, Zakopane acts as a portal to the mountains for people who like to fall down on snow, but I was too early for these sorts of activities and too late for proper sunshine. Nevertheless I made my way to the Tatras for the amazing views and laughed at the ridiculous system they had in place for getting people from the town to the top.

tatras-monutains

Aside from the mountains, though, there’s not all that much to do. Originally I’d wanted to enjoy a few days over the Slovakian border as well but it turns out not many people do this so the buses weren’t frequent enough to take me there.

tatras

In Zakopane too, my earlier fears of Poland being a meat feast were realised as most restaurants went the traditional route and just roasted huge chunks of corpse. I’ve never been so excited to see a pasta dish on a menu or a bar that had swings instead of bar stools. Actually, I’d never seen that before but it was a brilliant idea, shame the place only served two kinds of beer, both made by Zywiec.

meat

There was also a market where every stall seemed to be selling the exact same kinds of cheese, which I’m not sure if it’s a terrible or brilliant idea. I counted 11.

zakopane-cheese-market

While it was a nice town in a beautiful setting, a few days is enough to spend there. I was there for around a week, which is rather too long, and despite preferring to stick around for a while to get to know somewhere I felt like I spent too long here and was itching to see something new. Still, at least they +served good sizes of tea.

big-cuppa-tea

Filed under: europe, ,

Leave a Reply

