Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with the other side of Koh Phangan

Silence retreats are not the main tourist attraction on Koh Phangan. While I was noiselessly meditating my problems away, scores of people were on the beaches below me getting destroyed on cheap drugs and cheaper booze, mainly in celebration of the moon successfully completing yet another cycle. As soon as I was out, I joined them.

haad-rin

My state of bliss lasted a day or two, my mediation rituals went pretty much straight away but I was open to new experiences and ready to start slipping back into old bad habits.

I missed Christmas but I was back in the real world for Hogmanay and so I joined the hordes with their definitely-not-actually-the-nice-looking-vodka-bottle-on-the-stall cocktail buckets, their laughing gas balloons, neon body paints and their hardcore drugs at Haad Rin. Some of that sentence is actually true.

rainbow beard

Summary: lots of people, lots of idiots, lots of noise, lots of stalls selling that, a few crappy fireworks then home.

kohphangan-beachparty

The difference between this night and my recent experience was startling and it was probably the best way to prepare myself for the much less debaucherous scenes than I was expecting

Filed under: asia, , ,

Leave a Reply

