Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Chiang Mai, again

Last time I went to Chiang Mai I stayed in the city centre. I fell in love the place, and the place fell a little in love with me in a weird, weird way.

This time I headed out to a trendy area to the west of the city, Nimmanhaemin. Close to the university, there’s a lot of young people around and an energy that goes with them. The place is filled with western-style cafes, shops and restaurants so although I wouldn’t recommend it for a first time visitor, it was nice to see on a return visit.

It’s perhaps telling that the only photo I took there was when I went to a night market. It’s of a girl wearing a dog as a backpack.

thailand-dog-backpack
Told you it was a cool place.

Other than that there were a few family obligations (and hassles) and not too much else. I have no family there, but the girl I love (a different one than last time) does.

As I was staying on the way to Doi Suthep I thought I’d go back and see how my blessed bell was doing. For some reason, presumably a huge mistake, someone had taken it down. When I looked closely at the messages that were still hanging it looked suspiciously like previous messages had been rubbed off so the bells could be resold in a continual loop to stupid, superstitious tourists.

doi-suthep-thailand

doi-suthep-blessing

doi-suthep=no-shoes

I also have this photo. Any idea what it’s of? Some sort of temple. They have loads of them in Thailand.

chiang-mai-temple

What was meant to be a week-long trip to my favourite Thai city cut cut down to three days because of family fights, which turned out to be both a bad thing and a good thing.

Filed under: asia, , , ,

Leave a Reply

