Oliver is…

He that hath a beard is more than a youth, and he that hath no beard is less than a man

…done with Chiang Rai

Chiang Rai, not to be confused with Chiang Mai, is one of the most talked about cities outside the big two in Thailand but after my trip there I couldn’t work out why.

Admittedly I didn’t see the top attraction of the place, the White Palace, which looks astounding in pictures but because of where my hotel was situated was a stinking hassle to try to get to. Thankfully the Man on the Lam didn’t have those same problems. As you can see it’s a palace that’s white. Probably one of the more impressive ones in the country.

Chiang Rai's White Palace

What I did see, though, was the old airport which, after the working day is done, turns into a gathering place for locals to walk, play sports and partake in Zumba, a craze that’s taking SE Asia by storm at the moment*. Although I went there I didn’t take any photos. Not many other bloggers seem to care, so I’m hoiking a pretty shoddy picture from Asia Rooms.

I did, however, take a photo of the cool golden roundabout in the city centre. There wasn’t much else to see or do, but at least my trigger finger didn’t go completely out of practise.

chiang-rai

One other thing I did, which you probably don’t care about, is go to a football match there, watching the orange of Chiang Rai United lose to the green Bangkok Glass (rubbish name). The quality of football was absolutely atrocious, worse than in Scotland even, but I did at least get a chance to witness the love of the national anthem as it was played before the match. I also saw the biggest statue of a stag beetle in my life.

chiang-rai-united-football chiang-rai-stag-beetle

Probably what made the game so bad was that I was still thinking back to my trip up to Chiang Rai, where I got to play Megadrive games on the bus. Bliss.

thai-bus-games

Filed under: asia, ,

Leave a Reply

